DLP 2015 Week 8

This week’s challenge involved repeating elements. I’ve always thought that I hate repetition, but really, that’s not true. I hate monotony. I think stationary bikes are cycles from hell. I swear time slows down when you stare at that little red clock — it just mocks you with the vast amount of time you have left until you can hop off and eat a doughnut. ANYWAY,ย repetition, on the other hand, can be lovely, meaningful, inspiring, enriching. Repeating something allows minute changes to happen. It can give you the opportunity to go back and right wrongs, renew friendships, see things with new eyes, and make wiser choices. So, back to art — I used this week’s challenge to try something new, as well as to repeat images within the art.

I started with a recycled foam tray – I’ve never used one as a printing plate and thought it would be fun. I free-handed a couple flowers (lose interpretation of repeating an image).

(Click on the images to display them larger)

DLP 2015 Week 8 step 1

I added some purple matte paint and slapped it down in my journal.

DLP 2015 Week 8 step 2

I added more matte paint around the flowers as well as some iridescence to the petals and some gold, which is becoming a repeating element in my art – I just love this Liquitex gold acrylic ink.

DLP 2015 Week 8 step 3

My final image has subtle repeating elements of lines and dots in twos and threes. I added depth to the flowers with 3 shades of Prismacolor colored pencils, some Scribe All water soluble black pencil scribbled around the flowers and the circles, and some sumi ink along the flower edges as well. I added touches of white and black sharpie as well.

DLP 2015 Week 8 Final

DLP 2015 Week 8 close up

DLP 2015 Week 8 right side of page

I hope you enjoyed my process – I had fun working on this week’s challenge! Please feel free to ask any questions/leave comments. See you next week!

To join in the fun and/or to learn more about Documented Life Project, please hop over to the Art to the 5th website.ย http://www.art5academy.com/the-studio/the-documented-life-project-free

4 thoughts on “DLP 2015 Week 8

  1. Lorraine February 26, 2015 / 3:03 pm

    Love your process! Thanks so much for blogging about DLP KellyAnne – your page is beautiful and I love the foam stamp!

    Like

  2. robenmarie February 27, 2015 / 1:30 am

    Your pages are beautiful and thanks for sharing with us!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

